Cottage~Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving, Day 2 was marked by a trip to the cottage. We hadn’t been up all summer long, and frankly I couldn’t wait to get there. It is a two-hour drive, just past Gracefield, Québec. I knew it would be brisk; it’s always colder in the woods than it is in the city. I wore layer upon layer of clothes and scarves, knowing I would be spending most of the day outside.

clip_image002[6]

I find Birch trees so stunning to begin with, and this shock of red Sugar Maple branches just stood out against them.

clip_image004

On our walk I came across this strange bug, who as far as I can tell is a type of tree hopper. He was really mellow, climbing around on my hand, and even hung on as I ran to catch up with the group to introduce him.

clip_image006

My main goal for the day was to practice taking pictures of the birds with my telephoto lens. I have been having a bit of trouble with it~ holding it still was a big issue because it has a manual focus instead of auto. Using my tripod has definitely helped, but I borrowed my dad’s remote as well, to prevent it from shaking when I press down on the shutter. Perhaps I just need the practice, but I found it difficult to pay attention to the birds, redirect the lens, control the focus of the lens, and use the remote. Also, the remote must be pointed at the front of the camera, and that the remote setting on my camera times out after a certain time (it couldn’t have been more than 2 minutes), rather than having to switch back to the regular photo-taking setting. It was a little bit frustrating, but I really enjoyed the whole process of learning as I went along.

And as for Mr. Blue Jay, well, the only clear shots I could get of him were at the feeder. He was onto me~ in every shot of him there was a leaf in front of his face, or he had his back to me. Pfft…

clip_image008

This bird I had never seen before (only in books) and he was really cute. There were a few of them (Juncos) and they were hopping around on the ground looking for food.

clip_image010clip_image012clip_image014

I just love the Nuthatches’ acrobatic abilities. In every photo they were hanging sideways or upside-down. And talk about camouflage. The Birch was made for the Nuthatch~ or vice-versa, I’m not sure.

clip_image016

I laughed when I got this shot. This Chickadee and Downy Woodpecker landed on the feeder at the same time in the same poition. For a few moments, neither of them wanted to make the first move until the Chickadee gave up and flew away to wait for his turn.

Leave a Reply

