Stone Butterflies

The other day, I noticed a butterfly. From fifty feet away I thought it was spray-painted onto this large rock next to a tree, near a city garden. I had a few moments before my bus so I wandered over to check it out. Carved into this huge rock was not one, but maybe five or six butterflies on every flat side of it.

clip_image002

clip_image004

This carving was created in the middle of the city, across the street from apartment buildings and stoplights and hundreds of cars, but I felt like I was in the middle of the woods. Lichen was growing over it, even spiders had found camouflage in the lines of their wings. I thought about the person who might have done this, the tools they might have used, and how long it had been there. A year? Twenty years?

Just think of what archaeologists might make of something like this in a thousand years.

Leave a Reply

