Bohemian Waxwings

On Sunday my husband and I went down to Mud Lake for a little walk. Without a car, I love that we can get there so easily; the buses run right along the river and down the street. It is the perfect place to spend a couple of hours in the woods, and still be close to home.

Although I haven’t been bird watching like I had meant to this winter, I always have my eyes and ears open when I go out anywhere. I finally saw a group of Bohemian Waxwings~ a huge flock of them, actually. They were stuffing themselves full of berries high up in the treetops, and making lots of noise. I wish I had a video setting on my camera for moments like these.

DSC_0470

cedar waxwing

cedar waxwing berries cedar waxwing drop

cedar waxwing in flight

They were very entertaining to watch, and really exotic-looking, with their crests and masks. Maybe they are cardinals in disguise…

3 thoughts on “Bohemian Waxwings

  1. These guys are actually Bohemian Waxwings (notice the brown rump: Cedar Waxwings have a white rump and Bohemians have a brown rump). There have been huge flocks of Bohemians hanging around Mud Lake the last while with one lone Cedar Waxwing mixed in.

    Like

  2. Wow, these are awesome and beautiful birds. I have seen the Cedar waxwings around here from afar but not caught them with my camera as of yet. I know they are berry eaters and I probably missed my chance this year! They're pretty big, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

