Enjoying the Tulips

This is the closing week of the Ottawa Tulip Festival, and every year I feel guilty if I don’t mark it with my camera.  They are all over the city, so there is no excuse to miss them. Today is supposed to be the only nice weather we will have for this holiday weekend, so it was now or never.

Reading this post on Georgianna’s blog got me thinking about different planting styles. I enjoy the dramatic symmetry of the displays along Dows Lake and Major’s Hill Park (lovely local photos here). However, I prefer tulips that are planted among other flowers; I feel it has a more intimate, natural look. The Experimental Farm mostly uses this naturally styled planting, and the bold displays are used sparingly.

Tulips Red

Tulip Curls

Tulips in Love

Tulip Window

Lilac Tulip Behind

Also, the lilacs are blooming. Enjoy them while they’re here. More photos of them soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

