Sweet Cake

A couple of weeks ago we baked a Walnut Cake for my Dad’s birthday. We happened to have in-shell walnuts, and I thought it would be fun to make some little candles to go on top. I remember making them when we were kids, and this post refreshed my memory.

I cracked the shells very carefully and set the nuts aside for the cake. I melted a couple of beeswax candles I had {I never burn candles, but I love the smell of beeswax} and poured them into the shells. I reused the wicks, which worked well except that they took longer to light because they were coated with wax.

DSC_0050

DSC_0003 copy

And the cake was delicious. The recipe was similar to this one, with chocolate ganache poured over it. YUM!

Leave a Reply

