Golden Summer

As soon as I start writing, she’s going to wake up, I know it. But if I let that stop me, nothing would get done around here. That includes blogging -something I rarely make time for these days- and sharing these photos are definitely on my to-do list. I also have a recipe to share, or rather a couple of ingredients that were made for each other.

These flowers are EVERYWHERE I look. After noticing a pattern in the photos I’ve taken over a few years, I think black-eyed Susans are now synonymous (in my mind) with August. The only other flowers blooming in our yard right now are hydrangeas, and together they fill out a mason jar quite nicely.

black eyed susan hydrangeas

black eyed susan closeup

I recently bought a basket of Ontario peaches and they disappeared before making it into any kind of dessert. (Fresh fruit and scrambled eggs are a favourite, simple breakfast around here.) But when I saw those blushing, golden orbs sitting on the counter next to some sweet potatoes, the seed was planted in my mind, and I wondered if they might get married one day… They would be lovely together in a crumble, I thought.

black eyed susan

august 2014 082

The fruit part of a crumbles is always an experiment around here (unless it’s just apples), but I always start with a proper recipe for the topping. Below is my grandmother’s crumble, but you can use your favourite standard recipe. Most of them have a similar baking time and temperature. 

Crumble

½ cup brown sugar     
½ cup unsalted butter, cold and cubed
1 cup oats
¾ cup flour (gluten-free is fine)
¼ tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp. nutmeg
pinch of allspice

Fruit

8 ripe peaches, cubed
1 medium sweet potato, grated
1 thumb of fresh ginger, grated
1 tsp. cinnamon
(Try adding some brown sugar to the fruit mixture to bring out the flavours more.)

Cut butter into the dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly. Place fruit into an 8×8 glass baking dish and cover with the topping mixture. Bake at 350F for 35-45 minutes or until the fruit is soft and bubbling.

One thought on “Golden Summer

  1. That recipe looks so good! I am still singlehandedly eating my way through a mountain of watermelon, but peaches are next on my list. The flowers are just lovely. Black-eyed Susans really do feel like a huge part of summer to me. I remember picking them from the side of rural highways as a child during family trips.

    Like

Leave a Reply

