Oh, December.

Every year I try to be a little more prepared: spending more time than money on gifts, putting up decorations early enough to make it worth the effort. Every year is a little different, but generally I fall somewhere in the middle of my (unrealistic?) expectations.

As of today, we have no decorations up (everything is in storage) but I have most of the shopping out of the way. This means I have time to have fun with some handmade gifts (and a little knitting for myself), without the pressure of a deadline. I have some baking to do by Christmas Day, but it is all very manageable and I rather enjoy that sort of thing.

All this to say, in this house we’ve been sick since the beginning of November; mostly my daughter, who has had three consecutive colds (or one really long one). I think I counted 2 full days without a runny nose and/or cough. It’s a Christmas miracle that ANYTHING has gotten done around here.

knitting rikke hat

hawk

Ball Jar cropped

PS: I also finished the painting that I mentioned awhile back. I still think it needs work but I like it enough to hang it up and let it go for the time being. I’ve already started on another much smaller one but I’m not sure when I will have time to work on it at home. Leaving the house for this class was a great motivator!

Leave a Reply

