Spruce Shrug

Well…I took a deep breath and added my first knitting pattern to Ravelry. I designed it for my daughter in January after becoming a little obsessed with the search for a specific shape, and all of the elements that I was looking for: open fit, only one button, and just a little bit of lace. I’m really thrilled with the way it turned out! So far I am offering it in one size for toddlers. It fits my slim, 2 year old daughter with room to grow.

The bonus is that it is a pretty quick and easy project; I used less than a full 200m ball of worsted yarn. The lace portion is very straightforward, and really only make up 12 rows out of the whole sweater. You can do it!

To download the free pattern, visit my Patterns & Tutorials page, or find it here on Ravelry.

january 2016 102

january 2016 109

5 thoughts on “Spruce Shrug

  1. Hello, I’ve started knitting this shrug for my 17 month old, today. It says decreases instead of increases… just the copy of the pattern I downloaded. So I’m sure it’s an errand. Just wanted to ask you if you have updated the pattern. I was a little confused. I’m have been knitting for 26 years. So I’m doing increasing instead of decreasing… 🙂

    Like

    • Hi!
      I just read through my pattern (it’s been awhile!) to figure out what decreases you are referring to. There are YOs (yarn overs) at each raglan sleeve increase. Starting on row 7 there is a decrease on either side (an SSK and a K2TOG) and those are there to maintain an angled slope on the front of the sweater. I hope this makes sense.

      I’m not sure when you downloaded the pattern but the one that is currently posted is the most recently accurate one. I updated it to say “2-4 year old” because it was knitting up a little bit large for people. I don’t have any immediate plans to revise it for sizing.

      Thanks so much for your interest- I hope this was helpful. Please let me know if you have any other questions!
      Caitlin

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes!!! I realized the yo after I sent you the comment! Thank you very much for replying! The size is perfect for us right now. My daughter is teeny. And it’s the prettiest I’ve seen on ravelry.com.
        Again thank you! And thank you for sharing the pattern. It’s just what I was looking for!

        Like

  2. How I love knitting this shrug!!! Infact I’m working on the 3rd! The first I modified it to fit my yarn. Then the second I made short sleeve..The third will be two colors. I am so grateful for your pattern!!! Thank you so much! I wish I could show you some pictures. Maybe I’ll put them on Ravelry…😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • lol…. I’ve made 5 to date! When I make some pull over cotton sweaters (she keeps pulling the shrugs off), then I’ll be making a ‘hot’ pink shrug and some ‘ends’ cotton shrugs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

